top of page

Project: Cinema Texas, Barcelona.

Porta Ian Mckellen

Ian Mckellen

Inspirada en l’obra King Edward II - IanMcKellen interpretarà de jove el rol d’Edward II al teatre, escrita per Christopher Marlowe. Pintura inspirada també a través del film King Edward II de Derek Jarman.

GAVESTON: My lord, I hear it whisper’d everywhere,

That I am banish’d and must fly the land.

KING EDWARD: ‘Tis true, sweet Gaveston. O, were it false!

The legate of the Pope will have it so,

And thou must hence, or shall be depos’d.

But I will reign to be reveng’d of them;

And therefore, sweet friend, take it patiently.

Live where thou wilt, I’ll send thee gold enough;

And long thou shalt not stay, or, if thou dost,

I’ll come to thee; my Love shall ne’er decline.

GAVESTON: Is all my hope turn’d to this hell of grief?

KING EDWARD: Rend not my heart with thy too piercing words.

Thou from this land, I from myself am banish’d.

 

Porta Shirley MacLaine (esquerra) | Porta Anthony Perkins, Audrey Hepburn (dret)

Shirley MacLaine, Anthony Perkins, Audrey Hepburn

Shirley MacLaine

Diàlegs extrets del film protagonitzar per Audrey Hepburn i Shirley MacLaine The Children’s hour (1961)

MARTHA: I've been telling myself that since the night I heard the child say it. I lie in bed night after night praying that it isn't true. But I know about it now. It's there. I don't know how, I don't know why. But I did love you! I do love you! I resented your plans to marry. Maybe because I wanted you. Maybe I've wanted you all these years. I couldn't call it by name before, but maybe it's been there since I first knew you.

KAREN: But it's not the truth, not a word of it is true! We've never thought of each other that way.

MARTHA: No, of course you didn't. But who's to say I didn't. I'd never felt that way about anybody before you. I've never loved a man. I never knew why before, maybe it's that.

Anthony Perkins, Audrey Hepburn

Green Mansions song from the movie Green Mansions

They say that Love is a fragile thing

A limits? When a magic ring made of gold.

They say that love is a bird in flight,

A gleam of light, a star too bright to behold.

 

Porta Todo Modo: Gian Maria Volontè, Marcello Mastroianni

Todo Modo: Gian Maria Volontè, Marcello Mastroianni

A les pintures de la porta surten els actors italians Marcello Mastroianni i Gian Maria Volonte, actors de la adapatació cinematográfica de la novel·la Todo Modo de Leonardo Sciascia.

Y si la prueba fracasa? Ahí está el problema, con el que, a decir verdad, nunca me había encontrado porque todo, dentro de mí y en torno a mí, llevaba años siendo ficción. No vivía sino engañándome, y dejándome engañar. Sólo las coses que se pagan son auténticas, si se pagan con la inteligencia y el dolor. Y yo ahora sólo pagaba a través de los bancos. No había sentimiento, convicción o idea por la cual no me pidieran otra cosa que una firma en un cheque. O en un cuadro, porque lo que da valor a un cuadro es la firma, exactamente igual que sobre un cheque.

(Algún día haré una exposición de telas sólo con mi firma, para venderlas a precios más bien altos; y sugeriré al marchante esta frase publicitaria: “píntalo tú mismo, un gran pintor ya te lo ha firmado¨). También del dolor ajeno (la enfermedad, la miseria, la desgracia que cata sobre personas que conocía o que, sin conocerlas, acudan a mí; la guerra en la que ardían o la opresión bajo la cual gemían pueblos enteros) me liberaba con una firma, porque bastaba esta para que inmediatamente se desvanecieran las imágenes.

Me había liberado así de muchas cosas; de demasiadas para que no me sintiera, en aquel momento, lejos de la verdad de la vida...

Fragment del llibre Todo Modo

 

Porta Doris Day, Rock Hudson

Doris Day, Rock Hudson

“Happy Endings”, performed by Terry Melcher (fill de Doris Day).

Bring back happy endings,

Where the good guys always win.

Give me Santa and the Easter Bunny

Make me smile again.

We’ll send the tears away

Send me back to yesterday

We’ll learn to laugh again.

Dry our eyes and see the sad times end.

If you love happy endings,

Then let’s go back once more.

MAKE ME SMILE AGAIN.

 

Porta Judi Dench

Judi Dench

Text original de William Shakespeare, llegit per Judi Dench dins el film The Angelic Conversation, de Derek Jarman, (1985)

To me, fair friend, you never can be old,

For as you were when first your eye I ey'd,

Such seems your beauty still. Three winters cold

Have from the forests shook three summers' pride,

Three beauteous springs to yellow autumn turn'd

In process of the seasons have I seen,

Three April perfumes in three hot Junes burn'd,

Since first I saw you fresh, which yet are green.

Ah! yet doth beauty, like a dial-hand,

Steal from his figure and no pace perceived;

So your sweet hue, which methinks still doth stand,

Hath motion and mine eye may be deceived:

For fear of which, hear this, thou age unbred;

Ere you were born was beauty's summer dead.

Sonnet CIV

*All paintings found at Cinema Texas, Carrer de Bailèn, Barcelona.

All work Copyright of Rice Visual Artist

©RICE

All photos copyright of Photographer:

Laura Piqué Márquez

Instagram: @teia_i

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page